Blog Standards and other Stuff

Posted: May 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

So, in the three days I’ve been doing this blog, this is the fifth blog post I’ve written.

Yesterday, I wrote a fairly extensive deconstruction on the concept of the Great American Novel. It was almost a thousand words and I realized I had yet to get to the point. Blog moved to trash.

Today, I wrote a similarly long post about the emotional energy I spend on taking care of my boys. I couldn’t decide whether it was too mean or too whiny, but it was at least one of them. Blog moved to trash.

I also realized today that I didn’t actually want to be there when Kay read the blog. I want her to read it, sure, I just don’t want to, y’know be there.

So apparently I have weird blog standards. I’m taking that as a good thing.

Since I’m not actually going to blog the difficulties of parenting until such point as I actually have something useful and/or constructive to say about it. The idea of putting the topic in the “Tomorrow on Lost” section at the end is to force me to think about what I promise, so there’s no getting out of it. Well, three days in and to heck with that. I did think and write about it, and it wasn’t worthy of being posted here.

So, today. Once more it’s almost eight o’clock by the time I get this thing up (hopefully.) I didn’t have the time I had hoped to put to the May Project today, between STAR testing, exploring Catiyland (home of Munch Cat,) traffic court, a two-hour nap, and shopping for and making dinner. Sadly, I was not the one who got the nap, but then, I didn’t get traffic court either. Half of one, six dozen of the other…

Anyway, I now have enough volunteers for the Naggers and Readers to get me through May. I’ll be sending out an email or something to those folks tonight. I’m holding off on new page output until the word count goals are met. Probably start Wednesday night.

Josh Smift has been so kind as to set up two feeds for this blog (guaranteeing a fat blog) at http://blackflak-feed.dreamwidth.org/ and at http://syndicated.livejournal.com/blackflak_feed/. Thank you, my friend, you have kept me from beating my neoLuddite skull against technology that is fast outracing me. And yet, I still know all the words to “I’d Rather Be An Apple Than A TRaSh.”

Wow. Over four hundred words and I still haven’t actually said anything new, projectwise. I’m planning on a little dissertation one of these days about what I’m reading, but I don’t have the time and you don’t have the attention for a full spiel. Today I started reading Our Hero: Superman on Earth by Tom DeHaven. I’m in and out on reading Who Fears the Devil by Manly Wade Wellman. We’ll be keeping track of books read, but for those who want to start early, that’s where I’m at. So there. New stuff.

Tomorrow: Okay, fine, I’ll talk about Nine Dead Suns, what needs to be done with it, and why it didn’t make the May Project agenda. Maybe I’ll even post it without deleting the whole thing and rewriting from scratch!

Comments
  1. Douglass Barre says:

    Aaaaaand… Just finished the Tom Dehaven book. Thanks, insomnia…

Leave a Reply

