Surgery Update

Posted: May 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

Well, I’ve finally escaped from the firewall-bound prison of the hospital where there was nothing to do all day but lay around, and now I’m back home… uh… laying around.

So, now that I’ve got some perspective (albeit four hours of perspective,  but everything looks better when you don’t have to look over an oxygen tube) let’s look at how this whole medical fiasco is going to fit into the May Project.

(Sidebar: Oh my GOD, it is so much easier to type blog posts on my computer than on my iPhone! I’m practically having a fingergasm here.)

Anyway, the issue that’s been going on this year medically is that there’s some kind of colon narrowing/inflammation/obstruction that’s causing bimonthly pain and/or… um, stuff you don’t really need me to detail. When it happened the first time, we hoped it was just a random blip. When it happened the second time, we were faced by a choice between exploratory surgery to see what was going on and deferring to see if the inflammation would go down on his own. Well, it didn’t, so now the main choice facing me is whether the descriptive cliche is going to be “third time’s the charm” or “three strikes and you’re out.”

Surgery is imminent. I’m home, now, but come Monday I’m on the phone to figure out where I’m going to get my innards mucked about. It’s looking like I’ll be having part of my colon removed and either resected or that other thing that isn’t as fun as colonic resectioning. While we’re in there, we’re also going to ditch that enlarged spleen I’ve been carrying around. So, not the most fun surgery coming up. The surgeon that I’m not using says that he estimates five to seven days recovery, so I’m estimating about a month. Escaping from a hospital post-surgery is not my forte.

How this is going to wreak havoc with my writing schedule–because Lord knows it will–is yet to be determined. I’ll probably be going in to surgery within the next week or two, but I don’t know when. I’ll probably be too uncomfortable and drugged to get any writing done, but I don’t know for how long. Considering that I was hoping to use the month of May as a nice easy return to productivity, attempting the same feat under these conditions is going to be a challenge. So as things change, so shall we of the May Project. It’s not fair to expect people to simultaneously nag me and sympathize with me for being hospitalized. Extra thanks to Shawna who bore up under that stress admirably this week before I realized how unfair it was. I’m still going to try to get some pages cranked out in the days before the Big Cut, but the regimented schedule will go on hold.

What we can work on, and I’ll try to talk more about this tomorrow, is to bulk up on productive uses of hospital time. To that end, I’m going to put out the suggestion box to you, the May Project vict–uh, participants. What shall we do with the drugged-up sailor, ear-lie in the morning?

Tomorrow: In that vein, I’ll talk about books I have to read, and trying to return to my New Year’s resolution of fifty-two book in fifty-two weeks.

Leave a Reply

