Write Way, Wrong Way

Posted: July 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

The first big gist of the May Project was to try to get my writing productivity up. (This was not hard because anything more than zero is an improvement.) Thus, it should come as no surprise that one of the major goals with the August Project is to do the same. This time it’s going to be a little harder because I’ve gotten a few pages done here and there, so I actually have to improve to do better. Mmm… tautology…

To that end, I’ve got a bit of outline for y’all to look at. We’ll discuss afterwards.

AUGUST PROJECT OUTLINE (Part 1 of 7): WRITING

1. Nine Dead Suns

a. The Big Picture

b. The Hole

c. Future Books

2. CCC Novel

a. Plotting

b. Daily goals for long term progress

3. Screenplays

a. Cosmic!

b. Darkness on the Edge of Town

c. Learn how to write a screenplay correctly

4. August Project Blog

a. Persevere; post something every day

5. Schedule/Deadlines

a. Weekly writing times

b. Project deadlines

6. Find an agent

7. Collect old writing files

a. Get files off of old hard drives

b. Reformat old files to Word

c. Make portfolio of work

d. Appraise old work for sellability

8. Writing Scheduler App

See? Look! I told you there was an outline! It almost looks like I know what I’m doing.

Anyway, the first four points here are specific writing projects. For those of you who are new to our internet-transparent-midlife-crisis, Nine Dead Suns is a young adult fantasy novel that’s about 90% done. There’s a big 10,000 word hole in the middle that needs to be filled (hence “The Hole”) and to figure out what needs to go there, I’m going to need to figure out some big picture stuff about the series as a whole. One thing that has changed since the May Project, however, is that I’m moving 9DS to top priority so that it can go out into the world and try to get itself sold while I work on other things.

IF YOU WANT TO BE A 9DS READER, PLEASE REPLY OR EMAIL ME! To help with that, you’ll need to have read the book, and I’ll email it to you so you can do so prior to August!

The CCC Novel is the big epic anthology magazine novel I’ve talked about before. That’s going to be the big writing push of the year once 9DS is wrapped up.

There are two screenplay ideas I want to poke around with: Cosmic!, a summer effects blockbuster that ends with a guy fighting a black hole in hand to hand combat, and Darkness on the Edge of Town, an indie musical based on the music of Bruce Springsteen. (You can take the boy out of Jersey, but you can’t take the Jersey out of the boy.) These are lower priority, but might be nice to counterpoint writing the giant heavy CCC tome.

And, obviously, this blog. Every day, something blathery! That’s our promise to you.

The rest of the outline concerns methodology. I know that I’m one of those people who needs deadlines to get things done. Sadly, I’m crap at assigning myself deadlines and feeling accountable. That’s what y’all will be doing, especially the Naggers (those of you who have/will volunteer to nag me, natch.) Keep me accountable! And if you want to keep Kay accountable for giving me writing time, that’s good too. (She might disagree.)

Once we get some work to sell together, I’ll need to find an agent. You guys are, like, some kind of network. Do you know someone? Someone who knows someone? A friend of a friend who picked up a hitchhiker and then when they brought her home they found out she had been dead for ten years then became a successful literary agent? Let me know.

I want to get old work together. Is that productive avoidance, literary narcissism or actually a good idea?

Finally, I want to write a little app for my iPhone to make little word-count/page-count graphs and stuff. More on that later.

So, those are the initial plans. Did I leave anything out? Am I setting out on fool’s errands? Your job for today (cause you don’t have enough to do, I’m sure, right?) is to give me some feedback on anything I might not be thinking of here, or other ideas to achieve these goals.

Thanks! I really do appreciate it, even if I can’t write serious to save my life.

Doug

Tomorrow: Household jobs. Do I do dishes? Yes I do. What else? Come back and find out!

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    May I suggest under part 3 that you move c) learn how to write a screenplay correctly above a and b, both of which seem to involve writing screenplays?

  2. Laurie says:

    Yes, I will hold you responsible for your daily writing time.

  3. Josh says:

    Mary Anne Mohanraj has a section in her FAQ about finding an agent: http://www.mamohanraj.com/faq.html#agent

  4. MHPayne says:

    I’ll be happy to read Nine Dead Suns and offer my potentially useless comments.

Leave a Reply

