The Inexorable Charge Of Blogsponsibility

Posted: August 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

I made that word up.

Anyway, it occurred to me that while I’m barreling ahead full steam (yay for steam!), I’m being kind of burden-heavy on my poor innocent Readers. So today we’ll just do a quick catch-up so I can let people actually ruminate on stuff without having more of my life jammed down your throat. I know that there’s a certain narcissistic assumption that everyone who comes by here will want to comment on my life, ’cause it’s all about me! (Well, that was the point of the blog, but no need to let it get to my head…) Still, those of you who do want to give feedback (and it’s all been great so far!) might need a little space and/or time (which we call “spime”).

So, no new rant, no new demands on your time. You only have as much blogsponsibility as you want to take on.

And if you do, here’s what we’ve got on the table this week:

1. Didja read Nine Dead Suns yet? Didja? Didja? What’d you think? And how should I finish it?

2. What brain-enriching books do you suggest I put on my short list.

3. And hey, does anyone know what I should call you guys when I talk about you in my posts?

Sit down, put your feet up on the couch (Hey! Shoes off first!), turn on some Charles Mingus and muse at your leisure. This has been a public service announcement from Mister Authority Guy telling you to take it easy.

Doug

Tomorrow: Okay, maybe tomorrow I’ll bug you about something new. But maybe not, it is Wednesday…

Comments
  1. Therese says:

    Re: #3, Minions? League of Insanity? Fellowship of The Doug? (hmm, Fot’d, you could name your evil empire this as well) Legion of Sarcastic Fringeheads?

  2. Alyssa says:

    So a brain enriching series of books are the Gormenghast trilogy by Mervin Peake – these are WAYYY too long to fit into you 52 in 52, but they are the most skillful descriptions of strange things i have ever read. Also, such an enormous vocabulary contained within. Light on plot, but the characters are so ludicrous, yet you can envision them… it is slow reading, and yet I always feel like I have climbed a mountain – and gotten an incredible view – when I complete them. Titus Groan is first, then Gormenghast and then Titus Alone.

    Another completely different book is Bridge of Birds by Barry Hugarth – my favorite book ever. The first chapter is often off-putting for people; it can be skipped although it sets the tone for the tale that follows. It is a delight to read – comedic, high fantasy, snarky, mystery, and in the end – feel good. This will readily fit into your reading schedule and although not mind expanding, I think it will suit you to a T (and hey – a little light reading for heavy days 🙂

    If you are needing just a bit of inspiration for your big bad – try a book of Lovecraft short stories! That will raise the creep-itude!

    Finally, in an 80’s video game reference AND a bad pun, we should be DigDougs – cause we ‘dig’ Doug!

  3. Rachelle says:

    Thanks for the time to ponder. I have two rather eclectic suggestions for your reading list, though both are fairly large tomes. The first is Roots (yes, Roots, Alex Haley). I remember picking this up when I was in high school and staying awake all night because I couldn’t put it down. It really is compelling. The other is a bit more random: The Making of the Atomic Bomb by Richard Rhodes. Aside from satisfying my inner science geek, this was an amazing history of the international science community and the individual scientists (and others) who were involved in this project. It gets at some of the moral dilemmas they faced, as well as the personal sacrifices they made. On the down side, it’s over 600 pages (a bit of light reading, anyone?).

    BTW, I’d be happy to read Nine Dead Suns, if you want to send it my way.

  4. We are They Who Watch and (Occasionally) Comment, or TWWA(O)C.

Leave a Reply

