Doug Strikes Back

Posted: August 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

Okay, moved out of my concerted self-pity phase now that I’m eating solid food and they’re no longer threatening to put unpleasant fluids in and out of my body. I’ve decided to get out of here in the next day or so and get right back to life. Screw you, body. Brain is in charge now.

Today I’m going in with the so-far received feedback and I’m going to hack away at the Goal Hole in NDS. (Gee, that sounds dirtier than I want it to…) If I can use this hospital time to get the holes filled, then I can print out a very rough draft and start in on a first rewrite over the next week. I can tell that I need to get Nine Dead Suns wrapped soon, because I’m feeling structural breakthroughs on the CCC Novel a-burbling in my head.

I’ve appreciated all the good wishes while I’ve been stuck here. More feedback on the novel! It makes me want to get back to the August Project and not give up and lay around for several weeks reading comics and getting intravenous narcotics.

Instead, I’ve got things to do before I turn forty (the countdown of which is T-minus-nine days! Sheesh!)

1. Get out of hospital Monday or Tuesday.

2. Go to work on Wednesday.

3. Teach children what I missed earlier in the week on Thursday.

4. See Scott Pilgrim on Friday.

5. Run my Pathfinder game with miniatures Friday night.

6. Finish Nine Dead Suns draft by Monday. Print that motherfrakker out and take a red pen to it.

7. Get lots of presents on Tuesday because I’m forty and I’ve earned them. And cake. Cake that I will balance with lots of insulin.

This is my plan. I will make it so, if I have to do it dragging around a bag full of pancreas goo.

Doug

Tomorrow: I get myself out of this hospital by hook or by crook.

Comments
  1. Kristie says:

    http://www.mysteriouschina.com/chinese-myth-legend-3-hou-yi-shot-the-sun/

    alternate version of nine dead suns with mother figure – motivation for the dead suns to get back in her good graces?

  2. Laurie says:

    Give Josh the breakdown on the school work for Monday & Tuesday. He caught the boys up on Friday what they had missed on Thursday.

  3. Laura says:

    Even when you are not at your physical best, you still make me laugh. This seems like a good plan – especially when compared with yesterday’s threat to lie around like a slug… I’ve always been grossed out by slugs.

Leave a Reply

