I Draw The Line At BathroomTracker.Net

Posted: August 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

Obviously a key element of the August Project (and, in a week, AGENDA FORTY) is to live somewhat transparently so that I’m held accountable for what I’m actually getting done. If no one’s watching, I’m much more likely to watch embarrassing teenage sex comedies and eat New York Super Fudge Chunk (which was on sale today at the store for $2 a pint and I did not get any. Praise me.)

Since you’re reading this, you know the key to my year of self-improvement is this blog. Knowing that you guys are reading this compels me to be successful at the projects I undertake because otherwise you’re going to know I suck.

I also keep pretty up to date on my Facebook account. Now, chances are that’s where you actually heard about this blog, but if you’ve somehow come to read my long form rantings here, you might also enjoy bugging me by mocking my status updates at https://www.facebook.com/blackflak. In a vicious circle sort of way, I tend to advertise this blog there a lot.

Anyway, this all comes to mind because today I signed up with two new apps, and it occurred to me that there was a whole theme of exposing myself over the internet going on.

First, I switched my book reading tracking over to http://www.goodreads.com. I was getting annoyed at my usual app because it only keeps one week’s worth of motivational graph data, and when M’lissa mentioned it a few days ago, I decided to give it a try. The nice thing there is that it allows people who friend me there to suggest books, see how much I’m getting read, and bug me about it. I’m also a sucker for rating things, and I got a nice half an hour of productive avoidance rating my favorite books on there. Anyway, it’s also linked through Facebook, and if you’re interested, I invite everyone here to friend me so I can bore you and embarass myself with my weird and eclectic reading habits. (www.goodreads.com, Goodreads on Facebook, Goodreads app for iPhone)

The second thing I did was to sign up with Foursquare. For those who aren’t super obsessive geeks, it’s a program where you can sign in to places you go and get medals and achievements for it. If you check in to a place enough (by which I think they mean “more than anyone else”) you get to become the mayor of it! I mean, how cool is that? I’m already mayor of my house, and I’m hoping to take control of Comics, Toons and Toys tomorrow. Anyway, it’s one of those where it only tracks your location when you tell it to, so I’m not worried about it secretly posting my midnight visits to Rib Trough or anything. If you friend me there, you can actually see where I am at a given time. (Foursquare iPhone app)

Anyway, if your rabid desire for information about my life isn’t satisfied here, those are a few other places you can find my internet footprint.

Side note: I was trying to be funny when I titled this post, which was originally “I Draw The Line At BathroomTracker.Com.” Then, out of perverse curiosity, I ran a google search on “bathroom tracker” and lo and behold: there actually *was* the site http://www.BathroomTracker.net.

Doug

Tomorrow: Wednesday! Also, I’m going to lay out some writing deadlines and talk about a few writing contests.

Leave a Reply

