The Law of Conservation of Writing

Posted: October 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

So, as I finished my red-pen edit of Nine Dead Suns (First Draft) and SAVED-AS the new file Nine Dead Suns (Second Draft), I noticed something happening. My newly renewed oath of daily blogging started to slow up.

“Y’know,” I said to myself, “If I’m going to write something, I ought to actually work on the novel.”

So I skipped a day, writing up my macro revision notes. Then I skipped another day, starting one of the new scenes for Draft Two. Then, today, because Ed is too lazy to read something longer than ten pages, I finished up my kid’s book, The Legend of Kid Santa and sent it to him to see what he could do with it.

Then, my dad’s red-pen copy of NDS arrived from UPS, and I’m ready to sit down to do more work.

So why do I feel bad about not blogging?

October might end up being the month of stupid thoughts here, because all my good brain stuff is going elsewhere.

Doug

Next: Maybe I’ll have something interesting to say about the seventh season of The Mary Tyler Moore Show. Or maybe I won’t. Let’s all wait and see.

Comments
  1. Laurie says:

    Of course, you are remembering to back up your work in more than one place, right? RIGHT?

Leave a Reply

