Once More Into The Breach, Dear Friends, Once More!

Posted: October 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

Three days left as we approach November. I’m getting the game playing out of my system now.

As I mentioned last time, November’s going to be a tight rules month. Everyday blogging, working daily on Nanowrimo, I’m putting myself on a diet… getting things back in order here.

So, Nanowrimo.

If this is the first you’ve heard of it, Nanowrimo is short for National Novel Writing Month, an event every November where people all across the world go crazy and attempt to write 50,000 words in thirty days. I’ve attempted it for the last four years, and actually succeeded once. After this year, it’s going to be five and two.

I talked last time about losing the urge on my first idea (which ALWAYS happens, so don’t bemoan it.) I’ve finally settled on taking a whack at the Ace Archer, Space Pioneer project that I’ve had floating around in my head for years. On the plus side, I’ve got lots of notes about it but I haven’t looked at them in years… so it’s well prepared *and* fresh! Also, it’s something that fits in peripherally to my CCC Novel project, so it’s not even wasted wordage.

Of course, Nanowrimo is the most fun when there’s someone to do it with. Several of my standbys are too busy this year, so I’m tossing it out there to anyone new who might want to give it a shot. You can get the pitch about it better at http://www.nanowrimo.org than you can from me, but it’s perfectly compatible with having a job, a life, and a family. You just have to, y’know, read fewer comics, I guess.

Anyway, I’ll be posting a daily word count, and I’ll be calling on many of you to help track with me… (kudos to Laura who’s been pleasantly nudging already!)

Doug

Tomorrow: I’ll try to mention a little of the diet stuff, so you can help with that too.

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    Hooray! A new post AND I got a mention! Ok, so what if it was for being a nag?

  2. MHPayne says:

    Ooo!

    Are you Nanowrimowing right now?? Do you have a little nanowrimower that you run along the pages?? It’s just so exciting!

    That Mike Guy!

Leave a Reply

